

Housing taxation: international perspectives December 1, 2022

European Commission Albert Borschette, Room AB-2D, Rue Froissart 36, Brussels

Workshop programme - This version: November 28, 2022

8.30-9.00 Registration

9.00- 9.10 Welcome address (Lucio Pench, DG ECFIN)

- 9.10 -12.15 Session 1 (chair: Agnieszka Szczypińska, DG ECFIN)
- **9.10-10.00** *Keynote Josh Ryan-Collins (University College London)* Understanding the affordability crisis in high income economies and the role of property taxation in addressing it
- **10.00-10.35** *Paper 1 Sarah Perret* (OECD) Housing taxation in OECD countries: current practices and options for reform
- 10.35-11.05 Coffee break
- **11.05-11.40** *Paper 2 Klaus Grünberger (JRC)* House prices and housing taxation: empirical evidence for the EU
- **11.40-12.15** *Paper 3 Kamila Sommer* (Fed) The Effect of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act on the Housing Market
- 12.15-13.15 Lunch
- 13.15-15.35 Session 2 (chair: Claes Bengtsson, DG TAXUD)
- **13.15 -13.50** *Paper 4 Martin O'Brien (Central Bank of Ireland)* Recurrent property taxes and house price risks
- **13.50-14.25** *Paper 5 G. Chapelle (CY Cergy Paris University)* Land is back, it should be taxed, it can be taxed

- **14.25-15.00** Paper 6 Alexander Leodolter (European Commission) The Fiscal and Distributional Effects of Removing Mortgage Interest Tax Relief in EU Member States
- **15.00-15.35** Paper 7 *Amalie Jensen* (Ministry of Employment in Denmark) Do People Respond to the Mortgage Interest Deduction? Quasi-Experimental Evidence from Denmark
- 15.35-16.05 Coffee break
- **16.05- 17.15** Effectiveness of residential property taxation: country experience. Panel discussion (moderator: Christine Frayne, DG ECFIN)
 - Doris Prammer (Oesterreichische Nationalbank)
 - Alexandre Matias (Ministry of Finance in Portugal)
 - Neva Žibrik (Ministry of Finance in Slovenia)
 - Stefan Groot (Rabobank in the Netherlands)

17.15 – 17.30 Closing remarks (TBD)

Conference organisation

Christine Frayne (European Commission)

Agnieszka Szczypińska (European Commission)

Alexander Leodolter (European Commission)

Eleftherios Kalogerakis (European Commission)

Email: <u>ECFIN-B1-WORKSHOP@ec.europa.eu</u>; Tel: