Skip to main content
Economy and Finance

Cyprus and the euro

Cyprus joined the European Union in 2004 and adopted the euro on 1 January 2008.


Euro-area member since 1 January 2008

Fixed conversion rate

€1 = 0.585274 CYP

Adoption of the euro: Cyprus chose a 'big bang' scenario, with cash entering use on the same day that the euro officially became the country’s new currency (1 January 2008), and a dual circulation period running until 31 January 2008 during which payments could be made using both Cyprus pound notes and coins as well as the euro.

Exchange of former national currency

  • At commercial banks until the end of June 2008, with a limit of CYP 1 000 for banknotes and CYP 50 for coins per transaction.
  • At the Central Bank of Cyprus until 31 December 2009 for Cyprus pound coins, and until 31 December 2017 for Cyprus pound banknotes.