Skip to main content
Economy and Finance

France and the euro

France is a founding member of the European Union and one of the first countries to adopt the euro on 1 January 1999.


Euro area member since 1 January 1999.

Fixed conversion rate

€1 = 6.55957 FRF

Adoption of the euro

The euro banknotes and coins were introduced in France on 1 January 2002, after a transitional period of three years when the euro was the official currency but only existed as 'book money'. The dual circulation period – when both the French franc and the euro had legal tender status – ended on 17 February 2002.

Exchange of former national currency

The Banque de France (Bank of France) exchanged French franc coins until 17 February 2005 and franc banknotes until 17 February 2012.