Pereiti prie pagrindinio turinio
Economy and Finance


In July 2004, only two months after the country became a member of the European Union, the National Bank of Slovakia launched an open competition for the design of the national sides of the future Slovak euro coins.

A total of 64 entries consisting of 638 designs were received from 56 different artists, of which 36 designs were shortlisted by two expert committees in March 2005.

The National Bank of Slovakia selected ten of them, which were submitted to the public opinion in a poll held in November 2005. After 140 653 votes had been cast, the three designs of the Slovak national sides were selected in December 2005.

The €1 and €2 coins depict a double cross on three hills (the Tatra, the Mátra and the Fatra) which are part of the Slovak coat of arms and have been a symbol of the Slovak nation since the 16th century. The motif appears against a background of stylized rocks, expressing the stability and strength of the state. It was designed by sculptor Ivan Rehak.

The 10-, 20- and 50-cent coins depict the Bratislava Castle, a massive rectangular building standing above the Danube whose origins date back to the 9th century. The castle is one of the most famous Slovak monuments and is an important cultural symbol. The design was created by Ján Černaj and Pavol Károly.

The 1-, 2- and 5-cent coins feature Kriváň Peak in the High Tatras, another important symbol for the Slovak nation and its independence. They were designed by Drahomír Zobek.

€ 2


€ 1


50 cent


20 cent


10 cent


5 cent


2 cent


1 cent